Return to About Mormons home

Prophet, Seer, and Revelator

by Lewis R. Church

"Prophet, seer, and revelator" is the threefold title applied to all who have received the fulness of the keys of the Melchizedek Priesthood associated with the apostleship. Ordinarily, those to whom this title applies are members of the First Presidency or the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. All members of these two governing bodies are sustained as prophets, seers, and revelators by the Latter-day Saints in a public congregational vote (see Common Consent).

Though there are technical distinctions between the functions of a prophet, a seer, and a revelator (cf. Mosiah 8:12-18), this threefold term is applied in its entirety to describe all these leaders. It was applied to Hyrum Smith when he was made Assistant President of the Church and Patriarch to the Church, and to Joseph Smith in his role as President of the Church (D&C 124:94). Also, at the dedication of the Kirtland Temple in 1836, Joseph Smith invited the members of the Church to acknowledge the Twelve Apostles as prophets, seers, and revelators (TPJS, p. 109).

(See Basic Beliefs home page; Church Organization and Priesthood Authority home page; Priesthood Organization home page; Following the Prophets home page)

Encyclopedia of Mormonism, Vol. 3

Copyright 1992 by Macmillan Publishing Company

All About Mormons